

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

District 1 Dr. Deena Horst

Janet Waugh

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky District 3

Ann E. Mah District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

District 6

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

## SUMMARY OF THE MARCH 2021 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

## Action

- Approved the definition of a microcredential, as a personalized professional unit of study that is competency based and results in a credential, and to encourage local professional development councils to create opportunities for personalized learning paths for educators, using formal and informal professional learning experiences.
- Accepted recommendation of the Accreditation Review Council to change the accreditation status of St. Patrick Elementary from Conditionally Accredited to Accredited for satisfactorily completing all areas of improvement.
- Approved the Kansas City Teacher Residency Program as an alternative elementary licensure pilot for elementary teaching.
- Approved issuing a Professional Teaching License, with public censure, to one Licensee and one Applicant following review by the Professional Practices Commission.
- Scheduled a Special Board Meeting for 10 a.m. Monday, April 19, to be conducted virtually for the purpose of considering private school applications for federal emergency assistance.

## **Presentations and Discussion**

- Commissioner Randy Watson presented generalizations as well as cautions about aggregate data on potential losses in reading, math and social-emotional as a result of the pandemic.
- Members received a status update on the Computer Science Standards Implementation Plan.
- Information on COVID-19 federal relief funds to public and private schools was shared, including Commissioner's Task Force on funding oversight, application process and timelines.

## Recognition

- Members recognized the two Kansas schools named National ESEA Distinguished Schools as part of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act's program to recognize qualifying schools for their positive educational advances. Sheridan Elementary School in Geary County USD 475 and Chetopa Elementary in Chetopa-St. Paul USD 505 are the honorees for 2020.
- Recognized student winners in the Kansas State Department of Education Art Design Contest, traditionally part of the KSDE annual conference. Winners were: Nadia Kaewsai (first place), Andover Middle School, Andover USD 385; Annabelle Stohr (second place), Stohr Christian Academy, Inman; Jade Willard (third place), Sunflower Elementary School, Paola USD 368.

Next Meeting - April 13 and 14, 2021.